What are the variables necessary to download to get kids/young adults ages 18 to 25 years in households?

I’m still pretty new to the IPUMS, I need to download the correct variables to get count and percentage of kids/young adults still living at home ages 18 to 25 years old

To get the largest sample sizes, I recommend using IPUMS USA. This includes U.S. decennial census and American Community Survey (ACS) data. These are household surveys, so you can identify everyone living in a residence. To identify persons aged 18-25, use the AGE variable. The RELATE variable reports how people are related to a single reference person (the “householder,” the person in whose name the housing unit is owned or rented); a RELATE code of 3 identifies the child of a householder.

You might also consider the following depending on how you are thinking about “still living at home”:

1. Using a RELATE code of 3 identifies children of a householder only. However, it doesn’t identify other relationships that might also represent someone with coresident parents (e.g., young adults who are otherwise related to the householder–a niece/nephew or grandchild, or someone aged 18-25 who is the householder and lives with a parent (RELATE value of 5)). You may want to note which kinds of families you are/are not including if you only use RELATE values of 3 (i.e., nuclear families where the parent owns/rents the housing unit).
  2. IPUMS has an algorithm to define family interrelationships and identify a person’s probable co-resident parent(s) (see MOMLOC, POPLOC)–these would be a good way of capturing some of these additional cases like those I mentioned above. That being said, for certain RELATE values (e.g., “other relative” or “housemate”), we only assign parental location variables for persons aged 22 and younger (see table 4 of this working paper for more details). Persons with a MOMLOC or POPLOC value greater than zero would indicate they are living with their parents.