Health insurance variable?

Hi CPS team folks!

In IPUMS-CPS I find a number of summary insurance variables (e.g., whether the individual is covered by what type of private health insurance — employer-sponsored, individually purchased) such as HINSEMP and HINSPUR. These are very good variables but are only available until 2013. In another health insurance module I find another variable called “reported covered by private insurance” (PHINSUR) as well as a similar variable “COVERPI”. I assume that these variables are related to all types of private insurance (either employer-sponsored or individually purchased), is that correct? If so, is there any variables similar to HINSEMP and HINSPUR (those are in the summary module) that describe the detailed information about individuals’ private health insurance status?

A related question about private health insurance purchases — Assume that I am studying individuals who have jobs but do not buy employer-based insurance. Should I calculate the share of employed workers who purchase employer-sponsored insurance by looking at HINSEMP and EMPSTAT (employment status) in CPS data?

Thanks!!

Yes, you are correct that both PHINSUR and COVERPI relate to health insurance coverage by either employment-based or privately-purchased coverage. Due to a re-design of the health insurance coverage questions found in the Current Population Survey, however, the SHADAC-Enhanced series of health insurance variables (which includes HINSEMP and HINSPUR) have been discontinued. As a result, IPUMS-CPS does not anticipate releasing Summary Health Insurance variables for 2014-present.