Can you please help me fast track my application approval?

Hi IPUMS Team,

I am a student at the University of Sydney and have a deadline 27 Sep at 11:59pm for a STATA project that I am working on. I am writing a replication study on status exchange theory using the 5% IPUMS of the 2000 U.S. Census. I am hoping to see if someone is able to approve my account as soon as possible so that I can access the dataset I need to complete my work. I am really desperate and would not be asking unless it was urgent. I really appreciate any help and understand if it is not possible to honour my request.

Many thanks,
Youwen

Hi Youwen,

IPUMS USA provides access to U.S. decennial census microdata, such as the 2000 US census, while IPUMS International provides access to census and survey data fielded in other countries. I am seeing that you have been approved for access to IPUMS USA, therefore you should be able to access the 2000 U.S. census 5% sample there. If you have any further difficulty obtaining this data, I recommend referring to the IPUMS USA FAQ and video tutorials.

Dear Ivan,

Thank you for taking the time to solve this problem!

I’ve attached the variables I’ve selected via IPUMS International. There are some variables I couldn’t find from IPUMS USA. For example, BPLCOUNTRY, which is highlighted on the screenshot. As I am following the data selection steps made by my professor and he is using IPUMS International. It would be better to get access to the dataset as he indicated. I sincerely appreciate it!

Best,
Youwen