404s on download links?

Hi,

I’m new to IPUMS and am super excited to try out the new API! So far everything has gone pretty smoothly—the instructions were really clear, and it’s great that they’re written using the python requests library since I’m also using that library to pull data!

So I was following the instructions and was able to successfully create a data request, and the status endpoint also works for me and I got the status complete. I also saw the request show up in IPUMS Login, and I was able to download it manually from my browser there.

However, I have not been able to successfully download it using the link returned by the status endpoint (in my case, https://data2.nhgis.org/extracts/019fae10-d475-0135-99f0-005056a35405/6/nhgis0006_csv.zip). I tried downloading it via requests.get, both using the {'Authorization': <My key>} header and also without the header (since the instructions don’t say that a header is required for this step). I get the following 404 response when trying to load that page:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
  <title>The page you were looking for doesn't exist (404)</title>
  <style type="text/css">
    body { background-color: #fff; color: #666; text-align: center; font-family: arial, sans-serif; }
    div.dialog {
      width: 25em;
      padding: 0 4em;
      margin: 4em auto 0 auto;
      border: 1px solid #ccc;
      border-right-color: #999;
      border-bottom-color: #999;
    }
    h1 { font-size: 100%; color: #f00; line-height: 1.5em; }
  </style>
</head>

<body>
  <!-- This file lives in public/404.html -->
  <div class="dialog">
    <h1>The page you were looking for doesn't exist.</h1>
    <p>You may have mistyped the address or the page may have moved.</p>
  </div>
</body>
</html>

Do you know why I might be getting this error?

Thanks in advance—I’m really glad to see that this forum exists!

Sidharth,