understanding frequency distribution

I apologize for this basic question but I am a research librarian and not a statistician. I am trying to determine labor force participation rates from the CPS and I created a table. Could someone kindly point out how to interpret the results. I completed a number of video tutorials but the frequency distribution still confuses me. I included a screenshot below. Thank you in advance for your time and assistance. tribution table remains difficult.

hi. here’s another non-statistician’s partial answer.

the rows list mutually exclusive “attributes” of the subjects, i.e., one is either “At Work”, or “Unemployed, experienced worker”, “NILF, unable to work”, or “NILF, other”. each person is one of these, and *only* one of these. so, if you add up all these rows (for a particular year), you have all the subjects.

the bottom row (“COL TOTAL”) is a check, showing that the sum of the previous rows in that column add up to 100%. the right most column (“ROW TOTAL”) shows the sum of the previous columns in that row, and expresses that both as a number and as a percentage of the sum of the other rows in the right most column (which number is shown in the bottom right cell – right most column, bottom row – of the table).

columns: for your frequency table, the first colum (1996) says that, of the population in question (who *are* those people?), none were working, 45.8% were unable to work, while 54.2% were for other reasons “Not In the Labor Force”. those three numbers “exhaust” the population in question in 1996, so they add up to 100%, which is listed in the bottom row (“COL TOTAL”).