Linking basic months data across four consecutive months

Hello. I am trying to link basic monthly CPS data across four consecutive months and check how good my matches are by looking at CPSIDP linkages with AGE, SEX, and RACE using Stata. My ultimate goal is to calculate the quarterly transition rate of individuals from one industry to another industry from January 2014 to April 2015. I am very new to CPS, and I wanted to make sure that my understanding of linking monthly data and verifying the matches is correct.

In CPSIDP, it has information on unique household id(i.e. 6 digits) and person id(4 digits) as well as YEAR and MONTH of first participation of the survey. So the steps that I thought I could take are:

1. Keep the observations whose YEAR and MONTH of first participation of the survey according to CPSIDP is between January 2014 and April 2015, and
  2. Make a dummy variable with value 1 if an individual’s AGE, SEX, and RACE do not change across 4 consecutive months since the first interview(i.e. which can be found from MISH), and
  3. Among individuals with dummy value of 1 from step 2, make a dummy variable with value 1 if an individual’s IND has changed from one to another.

Could anyone let me know if the way I am thinking is correct? Would there be a guide that I can access as to how I can link the basic month Data from CPS_IPUMS? Lastly, which weight should I use during this process?

Thank you very much for your help!

Your general understanding is correct. There is a whole page on linking the CPS, including many resources. There are also many materials from a summer 2018 workshop on using the CPS longitudinally, here. That page includes sample code for linking and validation of links. The way you’ve described your analysis (looking for a transition within a four-month period), the correct weights to use would be LNKFWMIS14WT and LNKFWMIS58WT.