Measuring Distance from Central City for Tracts

Hello,

I just realized there was a user forum for IPUMS, great!

My ultimate goal is to measure the distance in miles between each census tract in a metro area and a single “center” of that metro area. I mean “center” in the ecological model sense (Central Business District more than CBSA centroid or center of population). If I can get the lat/long for each census tract and the lat/long for the “center” of a metro, this doesn’t seem like that bad of a task. I think I have found sources for the lat/long of each tract and it seems like the NHGIS Place Point files will be a good measure of the “center” of a place.

I have 2 questions, 1. Do the NHGIS Place Point files have a lat/long for each “place point”? 2. If so, can I import only GISJOIN, Place Point Name and lat/long into a spreadsheet from the Place Point files available for download on the NHGIS Data Finder?

I am a GIS novice and work in STATA. Please correct any fundamental misunderstanding of the purpose of the Place Point files or pitfalls I am missing in this idea. Thank you for any suggestions you might have!

John

First, your general plan makes sense. You could definitely use NHGIS tract data and place points to measure distances from tracts to CBSA centers.

To answer your specific questions:

1. The Place Point files do not have “lat/long” values per se. They instead identify point locations using a “projected coordinate system,” which describes each location as a number of meters removed from a reference meridian and latitude. All NHGIS shapefiles use the same system.

(Note also that units of latitude and longitude correspond to widely varying distances on the Earth, so to measure distances accurately, you would either need to compute spherical distance from lat/long values, or you can measure standard Euclidean distances using the projected coordinate system of NHGIS shapefiles–which is generally accurate within the contiguous U.S.)