Identifying Same-Sex Couples in ACS Data from 2005-2017

Hello. My name is Charlie. I am an undergraduate student in the department of economics at the University of Maryland, College Park. I am interested in investigating gay locational patterns from 2005-2017. I am, however, new to research and not the best at coding in STATA. I realize that from 2013 and onward there is a variable SSMC that identifies the presence of a same-sex married couple. But because my interval of interest stretches back to 2005, I need a way to break down the data set to just include same sex couples, both married and unmarried, from 2005 to 2017. My goal right now is to create summary statistics depicting their household characteristics. I have used the command “keep if sex==sex_sp,” but I am uncertain as to whether this gets the job done or more coding is required to narrow the data set down further. I am also not sure how to create summary statistics and graphs on STATA for a large panel data set like this, with many discrete observations over several years. Any help or advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Charlie

It sounds like you are on the right track. By using the IPUMS family interrelationship variables, the attach characteristics tool, and the Stata command “keep if sex==sex_sp” (as you’ve already done), your data set will include only individuals who are linked to a same-sex partner. This includes both married and cohabiting relationships. One detail you’ll need to think about is whether you want your data to be at the individual level or at the partner-pair level. As of now, based on what you’ve described, your data will include an observation for each individual within a partner-pair (i.e., each individual within a partner-pair will show up twice in your data). Depending on your research questions, you may want to limit your data to only include one observation for each partner-pair.