Can I apply weighting without statistical software?

I am new to IPUMS. I have downloaded the data and put it in MySQL just fine. I have have read all kinds of things that say “apply weighting” to the data. And I have the person and household weighting fields.

But I can’t seem to find anything that tells me how to apply weighting, unless I have Strata or SAS or SPSS. Those aren’t in the budget.

Can it be done with basic data software, MySQL, Access, Excel? And if so, how?

Thank you

1 Like

If you are calculating averages or frequencies, then it is possible to utilize the information contained in the weight variables without having statistical software. The person weights report the number of people in the total population that a single respondent represents. In other words, a respondent with a PERWT value of 10 has 9 other people in the sampling area that are identical to her based on certain demographic characteristics. If you are trying to project your sample to the total population, then this respondent should technically appear in your dataset 10 times. In practice, you do not want to actually replicate each observation by its value of PERWT, as you would likely end up with a dataset having hundreds of millions of observations.